Skip to main content

Who We Are

Executive Board

INoGS Executive Board

The Executive Board for the 2020 – 2022 session was democratically elected in February 2020.

  • President: Elisabeth Hope Murray
    President: Elisabeth Hope Murray

    Elisabeth Hope Murray is currently an Associate Professor of Security Studies and International Affairs at Embry-Riddle University in Daytona Beach, FL, USA. As a historical sociologist with degrees in Political Science (PhD, University of Edinburgh), Nationalism Studies (MSc, University of Edinburgh), and International Relations (BA, Samford University, USA) her interests lie predominantly in comparative genocidal ideology studies and famine as a tool of genocide. Her current research focuses on British policy in response to atrocity and genocide in the Ottoman Empire, genocide and climate change, and ideological radicalization. Elisabeth is a long-time member of INoGS serving previously as the Executive Secretary (2015-2019) and Vice-Executive Secretary (2012-2015). Although she is an American citizen, she has lived in Australia, New Zealand, Venezuela, Scotland, and Germany.

  • Vice-President: Elisabeth Anstett
    Vice-President: Elisabeth Anstett

    Elisabeth Anstett is a social anthropologist, senior tenured researcher at Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) and member of Adès (Anthropologie bio-culturelle, Droit, Ethique et Santé), an interdisciplinary research unit at the Faculty of Medical and Paramedical Sciences of Aix-Marseille University. Her research focuses on dead bodies and human remains management and care in genocide, mass violence and crisis contexts. She is co-editing the ‘Human Remains and Violence‘ book series and interdisciplinary academic journal at Manchester University Press.

  • Treasurer: Rachel E. McGinnis
    Treasurer: Rachel E. McGinnis

    Rachel E. McGinnis is the Director of the Peace and Conflict Program at RIT Kosovo and an Assistant Professor in Public Policy and International Relations. She is an interdisciplinary scholar focusing on the fields of conflict science, sexual violence, and mass atrocities. Her research focal point is sexual violence during conflict concentrating specifically on male victimization. She holds a Ph.D. in Conflict Analysis and Resolution from Nova Southeastern University (NSU), a Masters and a Bachelors of Science from the Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT). She currently teaches at the RIT in Sociology/Anthropology. In addition, over the last few years, she has spent time volunteering in both Northern Ireland, Lebanon, Greece and this summer on the Turk-Syrian border. She works with PTSD and sexual violence survivors, as well as, works to bring awareness to local NGO’s, medical personnel, and government officials working with male refugees in the region. Rachel served previously as the Vice-Executive Secretary (2015-2019).

  • Executive Secretary: Dr. Raz Segal
    Executive Secretary: Dr. Raz Segal

    Dr. Raz Segal holds a Ph.D. in History from Clark University (the Strassler Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies, 2013). He is Associate Professor of Holocaust and Genocide Studies and Endowed Professor in the Study of Modern Genocide at Stockton University, where he also serves as Director of the MA program in Holocaust and Genocide Studies. Focusing on central and southeast Europe, Dr. Segal is engaged in his work with the challenges of exploring the Holocaust as an integral part of late modern processes of imperial collapse, the formation and occasional de-formation of nation-states, and their devastating impact on the societies they sought — and still seek — to break and remake. Dr. Segal has held a Harry Frank Guggenheim Fellowship, a Fulbright Fellowship, and a Lady Davis Fellowship at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. His publications include Genocide in the Carpathians: War, Social Breakdown, and Mass Violence, 1914-1945 (Stanford: Stanford University Press, 2016; paperback 2020), and he is guest editor of the special issue on Genocide: Mass Violence and Cultural Erasure of Zmanim: A Historical Quarterly, vol. 138 (June 2018) (Hebrew).

  • Vice Executive Secretary: Umit Kurt
    Vice Executive Secretary: Umit Kurt

    Ümit Kurt earned his PhD in history at the Strassler Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies, Clark University in 2016. He is Polonsky Fellow in the Van Leer Institute in Jerusalem. Dr. Kurt is engaged in his work with examining transfer of Armenian wealth, transformation of space, elite-making processes, ordinary perpetrators, collective violence, microhistories, inter-ethnic conflicts, the Armenian genocide, late Ottoman legal-economic history, and early modern Turkish nationalism. He has taught at Clark University, Fresno State University, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, University of Tel Aviv and Sabancı University. He was the recipient of the prestigious Armenian Studies Scholarship Award from the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation in Lisbon. He worked as a postdoctoral fellow in 2016–17 at the Center for Middle Eastern Studies at Harvard University. He is the author of Antep 1915: Genocide and Perpetrators (2018) and co-author of The Spirit of the Laws: The Plunder of Wealth in the Armenian Genocide (2015). His forthcoming book, The Armenians of Aintab: The Economics of Genocide in an Ottoman Province, will be published in Spring 2021 by the Harvard University Press.

  • Founder: Jurgen Zimmerer
    Founder: Jurgen Zimmerer

    Jürgen Zimmerer is Professor of History at the University of Hamburg/Germany and Founder of the International Network of Genocide Scholars (INoGS) of which he served as President from 2005 to 2017. Between 2005 and 2011 he served as Editor/Senior Editor of the Journal of Genocide Research and was from 2007 to 2011 Founding Director of the Sheffield Centre for the Study of Genocide and Mass Violence. His research interests include German Colonialism, Comparative Genocide, Colonialism and the Holocaust, Critical Prevention Studies and Environmental Violence and Genocide. He is author and editor of ten books and journal special issues. He continues to play a vital and active role in the INoGS community.